Australia make six changes for final Test vs Proteas


Australia have made six changes to their squad for the third and final cricket Test of the ongoing Commonwealth Bank series against South Africa which starts here on Thursday.

The changes include capping three batsmen – Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson and Matt Renshaw — who are set to make their debut in the top six.

“Matt has established himself in a short period of time as one of the best young opening bats in the country. His form is currently very good and we see him as a very exciting prospect for the future.

“Peter’s form over the last couple seasons, and with Australia A, has been very consistent. He has a good all-round game and we think he is the type of player who could succeed at the next level,” Cricket Australia’s interim national selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement on Sunday.

“Nic is an exciting and talented young player and we feel now is the ideal time for him to be involved with the Australian team. He has the ability to break the game open and we think he will flourish in this environment.”

Tasmania’s Jackson Bird and South Australia’s Chadd Sayers come into the squad as additional fast bowlers.

“We consider Chadd and Jackson to be very good bowlers that also can bowl a large amount of overs in conjunction with Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood,” Hohns said.

“Chadd bowls very well in Adelaide and Jackson is coming off a strong performance in his last Test match earlier in the year and both deserve their chance.”

Wicketkeeper Matthew Wade returns to the Test side having last played for Australia against India in Delhi in March 2013.

“Matthew has worked extremely hard on his keeping in the past few season and we consider it to have improved substantially. He is also a very valuable player with the bat and will add to the depth in our batting order,” Hohns said.

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Matt Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.



Leave A Reply

Powered by