Australia vs Sri Lanka Test Series 2016 Preview, Fixtures And Team News


A dominant Australian side will be playing a Test series with Injury hit Sri Lanka from July 26, 2016 to August 17, 2016. The Australian team will enter the series with their head held high with a win in the warm up match against Sri Lanka 11 and after an impressive tour on West Indies Soil where they proved themselves better than the West Indies and South Africa.

While the hosts are not in their best shape after a poor campaign in England along with the some major injury concerns that will surely haunt them. The last time around Sri Lanka hosted the Indian Cricket team for a test series and lost the series in their own home. They will be looking to forget that as they take on the mighty Australian side.

Australia vs Sri Lanka Fixtures 2016 TEST SERIES

1st Test (26 to 30 July 2016) – Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

2nd Test (4 to 8 August 2016) – Galle International Stadium, Galle

3rd Test (13 to 17 August 2016) – Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo.

Australia vs Sri Lanka TEAM NEWS

The Srilanka Team looks a bit ordinary on the cards especially with their batting order as the retirement of senior players has hit them hard. Dinesh Chandimal was the only positive from the England tour and all the burden will be on his shoulder along with the Srilankan skipper Angelo Mathews. Rangana Hearth will be looking to trouble Australian batting line up on Spin favored sub continent pitches.

Sri Lanka Squad -: Angelo Mathews(C), Dinesh Chandimal(VC), Dhananhaya de Silva Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Rangana Herath, Dimuth karunaratne, Suranaga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Kusal Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Lakshan Sandakan, Kaushal Silva and Roshan Silva.

The Australian team looks quite strong with their brilliant batting line up with all the test specialists like Adam Voges, Steve Smith and Usman Khawaja. Peter Nevill will be the specialist Wicket keeper for the team and Nathan Lyon is the only full time spinner in the team. The Return of Mitchell Starc will definitely make the team much stronger.

Australia Squad -: Steve Smith(C), David Warner(VC), Jackson Bird, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Neville, Stephen O’Keefe, Mitchell Starc and Adam Voges.

Rachit Sethi

Leave A Reply

Powered by