Prem and Thakkar each score centuries as Kerala Dominate the first day


Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Group C, 6th round.

Bhavin Thakkar and Rohan Prem each scored a century and as Kerala finished the day one on 290 for 2 against their opponent Goa at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Goa had decided to bowl first and Kerala opener Vishnu Vinod was taken in the seventh over just after he had scored 12. But, Goa bowlers showed no talent to impress for the next 70 overs. Thakkar and Prem successfully put on 234 for Kerala as the second wicket partnership. Thakkar got 117 off 200 balls, hit 14 boundaries and was bowled by Shadab Jakati. Prem stayed unbeaten 120 with Sanju Samson at the other end on 28 for the day.

Meanwhile, nineties from Nitin Saini and Rajat Paliwal helped the Haryana team reach 295 for 5 at stumps versus Jammu & Kashmir in Cuttack.

Also Read- Indian Cricket Season 2016 – 2017 Schedule

J&K captain Parvez Rasool decided to field first. Two early wickets in the first session put J&K on hold. But Haryana opener Nitin Saini put forward an unbeaten 152 with a 90 before in the match, A total of 94 was scored for the fourth wicket for Haryana with Paliwal.

Hyderabad saw B Sandeep (83*) and Mehdi Hasan (61) score half centuries to provide help to a middle-order collapse. Hyderabad ended the first day on 303 for 7 against Services at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai.

Akshath Reddy (64) and B Anirudh (49) provided a 105 run second wicket stand and took Hyderabad to 136 for 1. But a devastating spell from Raushan Raj took 5 wickets off before 51st over to put Hyderabad 141-6.

Tripura were bowled out for 171 on the first day in Valsad by Andhra.

DP Vijaykumar (4-56) and CV Stephen (3-47) supported Andhra that decided to field first, taking seven of the first eight wickets as Tripura reached 107 for 8.

Chhattisgarh had two half-century stands but lost wickets fast to finish the day on 212 for 7 against Himachal Pradesh in Kanpur.

Left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma made that collapse happen. Sharma took last three wickets. Top-scorer Amandeep Khare (85) scored 51 in partnership with Ashutosh Singh (16) for the fourth wicket and 76 with Avnish Dhaliwal (39) for the fifth to bring Chhattisgarh out of dark clouds at 39 for 3.

Probir Banerjee

Leave A Reply

Powered by